Thursday, April 2, 2009

Trugo 2008-09 Singles, Trophy Presentation

The Victorian Trugo Association 2008-09 season trophy winners:

Premiers - Port Melbourne
Ron Cullen, Terry Amy, Ron Adams, Michael Gibson, Charlie Marshall, Robin Morris, John Plymin, Barry Scott, Niel Sturgess and Austin Wang

Consolation winners - Footscray
Keith Haines, lvan Bell, Chris Simmons, Andrew McMillan, Emmanuel Nagahesi, Joe Paterno, Michael Burgess

Championship fours - Footscray
lvan Bell, Chris Simmons, Andrew McMillan and Keith Haines

Championship pairs - Port Melbourne
Robin Morris, Barry Scott

Singles champion - South Melbourne
Harry Grimwood

Ladies champion - Sandridge
Judy Doyle

Jim Drew trophy
(highest average individual score) - Brunswick
Gerald Strachan

Jim Drew shield
(highest average team score) - Sandridge with 2001 goals

Runner-up shield - Brunswick
G. Dansie and M. Davis

Wednesday, April 1, 2009

Game Over: Footscray Trugo club calls time

Footscray Trugo club, with the oldest Trugo clubhouse, will be shutting down after nearly 70 years of service to the elderly people of Footscray and the players of Trugo around Melbourne.

Is this an April fools joke? No, sadly it is not. This historic building and grounds need a Trugo team! If you have a passion for history, maybe you can help preserve a piece of the past and field a Trugo Team for Footscray?

Footscray Trugo Club 10-Feb-1940 to 1-April-2009
R.I.P - Trugo was played here!

Thursday, March 26, 2009

Trugo 2008-09 season, Pairs Championship

Port Melbourne 41
Brunswick 37
Eagles 33
Footscray 31
Yarraville 31
Sandridge 30
Brunswick City 29
Ascot Vale 28
South Melbourne 26

Thursday, March 19, 2009

Trugo 2008-09 season, Fours Championship

Held at the Yarraville Trugo Club

Footscray 69
Brunswick 68
Eagles 66
Sandridge 64
Port Melbourne 58
South Melbourne 55
Ascot Vale 52
Brunswick City 49
Yarraville 42

Thursday, March 12, 2009

Trugo 2008-09 season, Consolation matches

Footscray 124
Sandridge 120
AscotVale 106
South Melbourne 99
Yarraville 93

Thursday, March 5, 2009

Trugo 2008-09 season, Grand final

Port Melbourne 127
Brunswick 117

Port Melbourne wins the Trugo 2008-09 season grand final.

Thursday, February 26, 2009

Trugo 2008-09 season, Preliminary final

Brunswick 141 d. Eagles 135

Brunswick goes into the Grand final

Grand Final
Brunswick v. Port Melbourne

Where: Sandridge 12 noon next Thursday

Thursday, February 19, 2009

Trugo 2008-09 season, Semi finals

Port Melbourne 145 d. Brunswick 138

Eagles 138 d. Brunswick City 119

Preliminary Final
Brunswick v. Eagles

Where: Sandridge next Thursday 12 noon

Friday, February 13, 2009

Trugo 2008-09 season, Ladder results

Final positions
1 Brunswick
2 Port Melbourne
3 Eagles
4 Brunswick City

The Semi-Finals will be:

Brunswick v. Port Melbourne
Eagles v. Brunswick City

Where: Sandridge next Thursday

Tuesday, January 27, 2009

No Reservations, Anthony Bourdain has a whack of Trugo

New York television film crew from "No Reservations" made a reservation today to checkout a strange game played by the elderly folk of Melbourne Australia called Trugo.

Gerald Strachan, captain of the Brunswick Trugo team, talks with Anthony Bourdain and Matt Preston about how the game is played.

Watch the match between Anthony and Matt on the Discovery Channel "No Reservations" sometime soon.

"No Reservations" dives headfirst into life's colorful and rich pageant. Join Anthony Bourdain as he circumnavigates the globe on his conquest to discover the cities, villages and countries that provide life's truest surprises.

Anthony Bourdain is a 28-year veteran of professional kitchens, having worked as a dishwasher, line cook and chef in places good, bad and horrible -- most of them in New York City

Matt Preston is a food writer, cravat fan and purveyor of all things food and beverage. One hat is that of creative director of the Melbourne Food and Wine Festival, and another is food critic for The Age news paper. Born in bonny England, his food writing has seen him travel the world.